NECA Figures

I started collecting starships and I was very insistent that I would always and only collect starships. I felt they were easier to display, allowed for a wide range of subjects to collect from, and would probably be better recognized by non collectors. Who doesn’t recognize the Enterprise or the Millennium Falcon?

The other big reason I avoided action figures was that for the most part I felt the quality of likeness was lacking. The figures that offered any articulation were terrible in quality and those that had quality were usually static posed statues. It wasn’t until about 4 years ago that I got my first action figure. It was a Halo action figure by McFarlane Toys. I think the fact that the figure was more mechanical than organic helped them keep likeness on par with articulation and raise the bar on both.

One thing lead to another and now action figures comprise almost half of my collection. Shelf real estate is in high demand so I have to be choosy about what I bring in and what I display. And no other time is that more of a shame than when it comes to NECA figures. All their figures are amazing and they have so darn many it’s terribly hard to choose what to get (when you can’t simply get them all). So I have about a dozen so far and they are amongst the favorites in my collection.

screen-shot-2016-11-10-at-10-18-18-pm

 

My first NECA figure was this ugly mug. Marcus Fenix from Gears of War. If I remember correctly this is from GoW2. His giant muscles make his articulation a bit stiffer than usual the amount of detail on him, his armor, and his accessories is astounding.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

screen-shot-2016-11-10-at-10-20-47-pm

My second acquisition was this fantastic 1980’s RoboCop. Pictures just don’t do it justice. The details are incredible all the way down to the hollow right leg holster where his Auto9 can be stored. The only thing that would have made this figure better would have been a removable helmet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Predator and Alien Two-Pack joined the ranks a couple of Christmases ago. It took me a while to find the right Pred and Xeno since there were so many out then (even more now) and since these were going to be most likely the only specimens of these particular series I wanted to make sure to capture the most recognizable ones.

These two strapping fellas arrived last Christmas with a bang (ugh, terrible pun) and boy have I been excited to have them in my collection. Judgement Day is in my all times top 10 movies and the scene this figure is based on was groundbreaking cinematography. The T-800 Endoskeleton as well was a masterpiece of science fiction and these figures capture it all wonderfully.

This Sarah Connor figure from Terminator is so fantastic I had to give her a double shot here. The details, the likeness, the accessories, the mobility… everything on this figure is top notch. The NECA team downright outdid themselves here, I have absolutely nothing I feel I’d want to add to this figure.

screen-shot-2016-11-10-at-10-20-26-pm

 

Another iconic part of T2, Robert Patrick’s chilling portrayal or this advanced killing machine. The figure is on par with the rest of NECA’s Terminator figures but this one probably has more doodads than most others. It comes with 3 different heads, 5 different hands, and 4 arms and an additional torso which means you can pose him in an unimaginable number of ways. I’d almost want 3 of him so I could simultaneously display him in three different ways.

 

 

 

 

 

 

screen-shot-2016-11-10-at-10-20-53-pm

A little break in subject matter, my first and so far unfortunately only, NECA Batman. This one is from the video game Arkham Origins and even though the game perhaps wasn’t the best entry in the Arkham but that doesn’t stop this figure from being AWESOME!.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Terminator techno noir and police station assault are my latest additions from NECA’s Terminator line up and I struggled with the decision of getting both of these. As I mentioned before shelf space is rather limited and I’m hoping NECA will continue making Terminator figures and there are a couple out there I would like to get. These are both so similar it’s possible I would have been happy with just one of them but then I would have had to choose and that would have been too difficult.

This Nova figure, a Ghost from the StarCraft games, is nice and well done but does have some limitations compared to other NECA figures. For one it’s not the same size, it’s a bit smaller than their normal figures and lacks the same level of articulation, however the details are amazing and they were still able to include a few additional accessories in their usual fashion. Still this was a must have item for me and I gladly made space for her on the shelves. I was one of the people very excited about the possibility of her solo video game debut and was very disappointed when that plug was pulled.

img_5457

Last but not least is my only 12″ figure and the only one I have kept in the box. I actually got this at the same time as I got RoboCop but this vaudevillian veteran holds a special rank in my book. Again from a movie in my top 10 list, V is a fantastically dark and deep character and since I can’t have a life sized model in my living room this is certainly the next best option. Eventually I will find a good way to display him but until then he’s just going to have to stay put.

I can’t wait for the next NECA figure to come in the door.

 

You can get some NECA figures of your own here (and support this page):

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-1-20-25-am
Terminator T-800 Endoskeleton 7-Inch Scale Action Figure

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-11 at 1.22.01 AM.png
Predator Series 17 Action Figure Set

 

 

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-1-23-38-am
Batman Begins 1:4 Scale Action Figure

 

Leave a Reply

